

Please note change of address below

Ref. SCBD/EDM/BPU/CS/LR

25 August 2000

Dear Madam/Sir,

Re: Participants in the Meeting of Technical experts on the Biosafety Clearing-House, 11-13 September 2000, Montreal

Refering to my letter of 26 May 2000 and the reminder of 4 July 2000 on the above mentioned subject, I am pleased to convey herewith the composition of the technical meeting of experts on the Biosafety Clearing-House to be convened pursuant to decision EM-I/3 and decision EM-V/1.

The composition of the expert meeting was determined by the Secretariat in consultation with the Bureau of the ICCP, on the basis of nominations received from Governments, IGOs, NGOs and Industry, by the deadline of 15 July 2000, taking into account the criteria suggested by the Bureau of the ICCP at its meeting held on 25 May 2000 in Nairobi, which were conveyed to all Parties and States in my letter of 26 May 2000, namely:

- 1. Demonstrated expertise and experience in the fields of management of biosafety-related issues, information-sharing systems and database-management, establishment of clearing-houses and/or the clearing house mechanism of the CBD;
- 2. Balanced geographical distribution within and between regions; and
- 3. Fair representation of relevant stakeholders: public and private sector, intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations.

Following the letter dated 26 May 2000 sent to all CBD National Focal Points and the reminder dated 4 July 2000 which was extending the initial deadline of 1 July 2000 to 15 July 2000, the Secretariat received 129 expert nominations for the meeting from 47 Parties/States by close of business on the given deadline. Taking into account the above criteria, the following is the composition of the expert meeting (in alphabetical order of the names of the experts):

.../



United Nations Environment Programme

Tel: (+514) 288-2220 Fax: (+514) 288-6588 website: www.biodiv.org e-mail: secretariat@biodiv.org World Trade Centre 393 Saint-Jacques Street, Suite 300 Montréal, Québec, Canada H2Y 1N9

Government-nominated Expert Participants

Mr. R. Ariel ALVAREZ-MORALES (Mexico) Ms. Chantal Nicole ANDRIANARIVO (Madagascar) Mr. Ivan Rodrigo ARTUNDUAGA-SALAS (Colombia) Mr. Didier BREYER (Belgium) Mr. Adolfo DÍAZ CORDERO (Cuba) Mr. Karl DOEHLER (European Community) Mr. Mathew Pendy DORE (Nigeria) Ms. Christelle DU PREEZ (South Africa) Ms. Eliana FONTES (Brazil) Mr. H. Esteban HOPP (Argentina) Mr. Marijan JOŠT (Croatia) Ms. Maria KARADIMOVA (Republic of Bulgaria) Mr. Nematollah KHANSARI (Islamic Republic of Iran) Mr. Jaehoon KIM (Republic of Korea) Mr. Lauri KLEIN (Estonia) Ms. Julijana LEBEZ LOZEJ (Slovenia) Mr. Joseph Ngaira MASINDE (Kenya) Ms. Sally McCAMMON (USA) Mr. Jose Maria OCHAVE (Philippines) Mr. William PARISH (UK) Mr. Wieslaw PODYMA (Poland) Mr. Sheikh RIAZUDDIN (Pakistan) Ms. Pratiwi Pujilestari SUDARMONO (Indonesia) Mr. Yutaka TABEI (Japan) Mr. Johannes Agbor TAKANG EYONG (Cameroon) Mr. John WATSON (Australia)

Observers:

i) Industry and NGOs Representatives

Mr. Willy DE GREEF (Global Industry Coalition) Ms. Li Lin LIM (Third World Network)

ii) IGOs

Global Environment Facility (GEF) International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB) European Commission Directorate General - Joint Research Centre Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

iii) ICCP Bureau Members.

Yours sincerely,

Hamdallah Zedan Executive Secretary

To: All National Focal Points