# Secretariat

Ref.: SCBD/STTM/JPLD/dh

1 November 2000

## **NOTIFICATION**

Dear Madam/Sir,

Re: Representation on the ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Biological Diversity on Forests and details of its First Meeting – 27 November – 1 December 2000, Montreal, Canada

With reference to my letter of 5 July 2000 on the above-mentioned subject, I am pleased to convey herewith the composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Forests Biological Diversity to be convened pursuant to decision V/4.

Following my letter dated 5 July 2000 to all CBD National Focal Points, the Secretariat received 41 experts nominations from 35 Parties / States by 15 October 2000. The composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group was determined by the Secretariat in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA), on the basis of these nominations, taking into account geographical balance and the Guidelines for the Selections of Representatives which were conveyed to all Parties and States in my letter of 5 July 2000. Based on the above, the composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group is contained in the Annex to this Notification together with the names of International Organizations and representatives of Traditional Forest-Related Knowledge networks invited as observers.

Subject to the availability of financial resources, the first meeting of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Forest Biological Diversity will take place from 27 November to 1 December 2000, at the premises of the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (SBD), in Montreal, Canada.

Yours sincerely,

[signed]

Hamdallah Zedan Executive Secretary

To: All National Focal Points for the CBD

/...



#### Annex

# Experts to the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Forest Biological Diversity:

Dr Miguel F. Baqueiro (Mexico)

Mr. Modesto Fernandez Diaz-Silveira (Cuba)

Mr. Andrey Nikolayevitch Filiptchouk (Russian Federation)

Dr. Ma Keping (China)

Dr. Mart Külvik (Estonia)

Mr. Stefan Leiner (European Commission)

Mr. N. Manokaran (Malaysia)

Mr. Jacques Mbandji (Cameroun)

Mr. Shobha Nath Rai (India)

Dr. Kiyoshi Nakashima (Japan)

Mr. Gordon Patterson (U.K.)

Dr. Antonio Carlos do Prado (Brazil)

Prof. Carla Maria C. Raposo Pereira (Mozambique)

Dr. Kazimierz Rykowski (Poland)

Dr. Ian D. Thompson (Canada)

Prof. Bakary Toure (Mali)

### Observers:

(i) International organizations:

ITFF:

**DESA** 

FAO

**UNEP** 

**UNDP** 

The World Bank

ITTO

**CIFOR** 

Secretariat of the UNFF

**WCMC** 

**GEF** 

NGOs:

**IUCN** 

WWF

Greenpeace

(ii)

Representatives of TFRK:

Pacos Trust

Organization of Indigenous Peoples (OIS)