

REFERENCE: SCBD/EDM/HZ/39991

Secretariat

1 December 2003

NOTIFICATION

Issuance of Entry Visas for Malaysia in respect of COP-7 and COP/MOP-1 Meetings Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Madam/Sir,

This Notification serves to inform that the Malaysian government represented by the Ministry of Science, Technology and the Environment (MOSTE) has advised the Secretariat that delegates from countries indicated on the attached list **must** secure an entry visa for Malaysia prior to their departure from their home countries to participate in the seventh meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (COP-7) and/or the first meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety (COP/MOP-1) which will be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 9-20 February and 23-27 February 2004 respectively.

The Malaysian government has indicated that it is **not possible** to grant entry visas upon arrival. In the event that there is no Malaysian diplomatic representation in any of the listed countries, delegates are kindly requested to contact the nearest Malaysian diplomatic mission.

Information on visa procedures, including a list of relevant Malaysian diplomatic missions abroad, is available on the web site of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia at <u>www.kln.gov.my</u>. Delegates experiencing difficulties to access this web site and/or require any visa-related assistance are kindly requested to directly contact the designated Malaysian focal point at:

The Malaysian Liaison Secretariat for COP-7/MOP-1 Ministry of Science, Technology and the Environment Tel.: (603) 8885 8845 / (603) 8885 8838 Fax: (603) 8889 2973 Email: seccop7@moste.gov.my

To: All CBD and ICCP National Focal Points



As indicated in the Information for Participants Note, please note that visas shall be issued free of charge to delegates upon submission of an official letter from their respective Government nominating them as the official representative to COP-7 and/or COP-MOP-1 meetings.

Hamdallah Zedan Executive Secretary Page3

COUNTRIES WHOSE CITIZENS REQUIRE A VISA TO ENTER MALAYSIA (as provided by the Government of Malaysia)

A Afghanistan Andorra Angola B Bangladesh Burkina Faso Burundi C Cameroon Central African Republic China Congo, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Cote D'Ivoire D Djibouti Dominican Republic E Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia G Ghana Guinea Bissau H Holy See I India Iran (Islamic Republic of) Iraq	M Mali Marshall Islands Micronesia, Federated States of Mozambique Myanmar N Nepal Niger Nigeria Niue P Pakistan Palau Papua New Guinea R Republic of Moldova Rwanda S Serbia & Montenegro Seychelles Sierra Leone Solomon Islands Somalia Sri Lanka St. Kitts & Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent & The Grenadines Swaziland Syrian Arab Republic	T Tanzania, United Republic of Togo Trinidad & Tobago V Vanuatu W Western Samoa Z Yugoslavia Z Zambia Zimbabwe
India	St. Vincent & The Grenadines	