





ACHIEVING THE 2010 TARGET!

Ref.: SCBD/BS/WDY/jh/53751

16 February 2006

Re: Invitation to prepare for an election at the third meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Protocol to replace the out-going members of the Compliance Committee and those who have resigned

Madam/Sir,

At its first meeting, the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Protocol (COP-MOP) adopted procedures and mechanisms on compliance and elected a Compliance Committee consisting of 15 members (decision BS-I/7). While members of the Compliance Committee are normally elected for a period of four years, which is a full term, the first meeting of the COP-MOP elected five members, one from each region, for a two-year half term, and the remaining ten members, two from each region, for a four-year full term.

In accordance with Rule 10 of the rules of procedure for the meetings of the Compliance Committee adopted at the second meeting of the COP-MOP, the term of office of the members of the Committee commenced on 1 January 2005. Thus, the term of those members who were elected for a twoyear half term will come to an end on 31 December 2006. Also, two other committee members, namely Ms. Natatua Prescott (Tonga, Asia & Pacific region) and Mr. Leonard O'Garro (Barbados, GRULAC region) have resigned earlier from the Committee and their replacement is still pending. Therefore, COP-MOP/3 needs to make the necessary arrangements for the election of new members to the Compliance Committee to replace the outgoing ones and those who have resigned.

I therefore invite you to consult within your region and to come to Curitiba, Brazil, prepared to make nominations of suitable candidates and to elect or re-elect some members of the Compliance Committee for the next term, which will be a full four-year term. In this regard, I am pleased to inform you that, at the second meeting of the Compliance Committee held from 6 to 8 February 2006 in Montreal, Canada, those members of the Compliance Committee who will continue to serve a few more years expressed the view that COP-MOP may wish to consider re-electing the members whose term ends by the end of the year for another term to ensure continuity in the functions of the Committee. The list of existing members of the Committee is attached herewith for reference.

Thank you for your continued cooperation and support towards the work of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety.

Accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Ahmed Djoghlaf Executive Secretary

To: National Focal Points of Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety and other Governments



MEMBERS OF THE COMPLIANCE COMMITTEE 1 February 2006

MEMBERS ELECTED FOR A 2-YEAR TERM*

1. Mr. Bather Kone (Mali)

Biosafety Expert Department of Human Resources, Science and Technology African Union P.O. Box 3243 Addis Ababa Ethiopia Tel.: +251 11 551 7700 Fax: +251 11 551 7844 E-Mail: batherkone@yahoo.fr Web: www.africa-union.org

2. Dr. Victor Villabos Arámbula (Mexico)

Coordinador de Asuntos Internacionales Secretariat of Agriculture, Livestock, Rural Development, Fisheries and Food (SAGARPA) Mucipio Libre No. 377 Piso 1 "B" Col. Hsanta Cruz Atoyac, Mexico City C.P. 03310 Mexico Tel.: +9183 1055/1000 x33160 Fax: +9183 1000 x33209 E-Mail: vvilla@sagarpa.gob.mx

3. Ms. Birthe Ivars (Norway)

Special Adviser / Head of Delegation Ministry of Environment P.O.Box 8013 Dep. Myntg.2 N-0030, Oslo Norway

Phone Number: +47 22 24 6007 Fax Number: +47 22 27 56 Email address: <u>Birthe.lvars@md.dep.no</u> Web: <u>http://odin.dep.no/md/engelsk/index-b-n-</u> a.html

4. Dr. Sergiy I. Gubar (Ukraine) Deputy Director Directorate for Biotic, Land, Water Resources and

ECONet Ministry of the Environment and Natural Resources House 35 Uritskogo Street Kyiv 03035 Ukraine Tel.: +380 44 206 31 66 Fax: +380 44 206 31 47 E-Mail: sgubar@svitonline.com

^{*} The term of office of these members commenced on 1 January 2005 and ends on 31 December 2006.

MEMBERS ELECTED FOR A 4-YEAR TERM**

1. Mrs. Mary Fosi Mbantenkhu

(Cameroon)

Technical Advisor Cabinet of the Minister Ministry of Environment and Nature Protection Yaounde , Cameroon Tel.: +237 222 94 80 Fax: +237 222 94 80 E-Mail: mary_fosi@hotmail.com, fonelige@hotmail.com

2. Mr. José Alvaro Rodriguez (Colombia)

Posse, Herrera & Ruiz Carrera 7 No. 71-52 Torre A Piso 5 Bogota, Colombia Tel.: +571 325 7300 Fax: +571 325 7313 E-Mail: alvaro.rodriguez@phrlegal.com

3. Mr. Veit Koester (Denmark)

Ordrupvej 132 B DK-2920 Charlottenlund Denmark Phone number: +45 39633621 Email address: veitkoester@mail.dk

4. Dr. Tewolde Berhan Gebre Egziabher (Ethiopia)

Director General Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) P.O. Box 12760 Addis Ababa, Ethiopia Phone Number: +251 11 646 4606 Fax Number: +251 11 646 4882, +251 11 646 4876 Email address: esid@telecom.net.et, esid@ethionet.et

5. Mr. Gábor Nechay (Hungary)

Senior Counselor Nature Conservation Ministry of Environment and Water Kolto Utca 21 Budapest H-1121, Hungary Tel.: +36 28 41 6791 Fax: +36 1 275 45 05 E-Mail: nechay@invitel.hu

6. Dr. Nematollah Khansari (Iran (Islamic Republic of))

Professor Medical School Tehran University PO Box 14665-368 Teheran , Iran (Islamic Republic of) Tel.: +98 9121 121128 Fax: +98 21 6641 9536 E-Mail: nemat@nkhansari.com

7. Prof. Gurdial Singh Nijar (Malaysia)

University of Malaya Law Faculty Kuala Lumpur 50603, Malaysia Tel.: +601 12 332 1032 E-Mail: nijar46@hotmail.com

8. Ms. Biserka Strel (Slovenia)

Director Slovenian Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) Kotnikova 6 Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia Phone Number: +386 14 78 3129 Fax Number: +386 14 78 3150 Email address: <u>biserka.strel@uil-sipo.si</u>

9. Mr. Jürg Bally (Switzerland)

Adjoint scientifique de la Division Droit Office fédéral de l'environnement, des forêts et du paysage (OFEFP) BUWAL Worblentalstrasse 68 Bern CH-3003, Switzerland Tel.: +41 31 322 54 29 Fax: +41 31 324 15 69 E-Mail: juerg.bally@buwal.admin.ch

^{**} The term of office of these members commenced on 1 January 2005 and ends on 31 December 2008.