

Secretariat of the **Convention on Biological Diversity**



Ref.: SCBD/STTM/JW/ac/65087 6 October 2008

NOTIFICATION

Selected Experts for the Ad hoc Technical Expert Group on Biodiversity and Climate Change

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am pleased to inform you that after careful consideration of all nominations, the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice and the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties have approved the list of experts for the first meeting of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group (AHTEG) on biodiversity and climate change. The list of selected experts is attached and includes: experts nominated by Parties, resource people, and observers. The selection of experts was conducted in accordance with the Modus Operandi contained in annex III of decision VIII/10 of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Particular attention was paid to maximizing regional and gender balance and enhancing the participation of experts from small island developing States and indigenous and local communities.

The AHTEG will meet from 17 to 21 November 2008 in London, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and will be convened thanks to the financial contributions of the Governments of Belgium, Denmark and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Ahmed Djoghlaf Executive Secretary

Tel: +1 514 288 2220

Fax: +1 514 288 6588

Attachment

To: **CBD** National Focal Points





List of Participants Selected for the First Meeting of the Ad hoc Technical Expert Group on Biodiversity and Climate Change

Table 1: Experts nominated by Parties

Name	Nominating Country
Ben Mohamed, Abdelkrim	Niger
Dulay, Gyorgy Kroel	Hungary
Goddard, Lawrence	Republic of Palau
Hamadi, Youssouf	Comoros
Herrera-Fernandez, Bernal	Costa Rica
Hughes, Lesley Ann	Australia
Kumarsingh, Kishan	Trinidad and Tobago
Limjirakan, Sangchan	Thailand
Lin, Erda	China
Machado Filho, Haroldo de Oliveira	Brazil
Midgley, Guy	South Africa
Merckx, Valerie	European Commission
Sharma, Subodh Kumar	India
Toivonen, Heikki	Finland
Watson, Bob	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Table 2: Resource people

Name	Nominating Organization
Ash, Neville	IUCN
Boonpragob, Kansri	Ramkhamhaeng University
Cerda Shiguango, Johnson	Comuna Santa Elena
Cotter, Janet	Greenpeace
Dickson, Barney	UNEP-WCMC
Harvey, Celia	Conservation International
Karousakis, Katia	OECD
Lasen Diaz, Carolina	Bern Convention
MacIver, Don	Smithsonian Institute / Government of Canada
Mackey, Brendan	Global Witness / Australian National University
Noble, Ian	World Bank
Price, Jeff	WWF-US
Tauli-Corpuz, Victoria	Tebtebba
Van Orshoven, Christophe	Government of Belgium
Warren, Rachel	Tyndall Centre

Table 3: Observers

Hoffmann, Hanna	UNFCCC
Prokic, Snezana	COP Bureau
To be confirmed	COP-10 Presidency