

Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity



Ref.: SCBD/STTM/JW/ac/66682

10 March 2009

NOTIFICATION

Selected Experts for the Second Meeting of the Second Ad hoc Technical Expert Group on Biodiversity and Climate Change

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am pleased to inform you that after careful consideration of all nominations, the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice has approved the list of experts for the second meeting of the Second Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group (AHTEG) on biodiversity and climate change. The list of selected experts is attached and includes: experts nominated by Parties, representatives of indigenous and local communities, experts nominated by organizations, observers, and one resource person.

The selection of experts was conducted in accordance with the Modus Operandi contained in annex III of decision VIII/10 of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity. Particular attention was paid to maximizing regional and gender balance, and enhancing the participation of experts from small island developing States and indigenous and local communities.

The second meeting of the Second AHTEG will take place from **18 to 22 April 2009 in Helsinki, Finland**.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Ahmed Djoghlaf Executive Secretary

Attachment

To: CBD National Focal Points



ONE NATURE · ONE WORLD · OUR FUTURE COP 9 MOP 4 Bonn Germany 2008



List of Participants Selected for the Second Meeting of the Second Ad hoc Technical Expert Group on Biodiversity and Climate Change

Heikki Toivonen

Experts Nominated by Parties

Africa	
1. South Africa	Guy Midgley
2. Tunisia	Mohamed Zmerli
3. Botswana	Nkobi Mpho Moleele
Asia and the Pacific	
4. China	Lin Erda
5. Thailand	Anond Snidvongs
6. Micronesia (SIDS)	Joseph Konno
Central and Eastern Europe	
7. Hungary	Gyorgy Kroel-Dulay
8. Czech Republic	Prof. Pavel Cudlin
9. Bosnia and Herzegovina	Senka Barudanovic
Latin America and the Caribbean	
10. Trinidad and Tobago (SIDS)	Kishan Kumarsingh
11. Brazil	Haroldo Filho
12. St. Lucia (SIDS)	Lyndon Johnson
Western Europe and Others' Group	
13. UK	Robert Watson
14. Australia	Lesley Ann Hughes

Representatives of Indigenous and Local Communities

1. Association SOTZ'IL	Johnson Cerda
2. University of Papua New Guinea	Prof. John Duguman

Party Observers

15. Finland

1. COP9 Presidency	Cordula Epple
2. COP10 Presidency	Kanehiro Kitayama

Organizations

1. UNEP	Balakrishna Pisupati
2. ISDR	Julia Klein
3. World Bank	Ian Noble
4. Ramsar	C. Max Finlayson
5. IUCN	Neville Ash
6. Bern Convention	Carolina Lasen Diaz
7. Conservation International	Celia Harvey
8. Greenpeace	Janet Cotter

9. WWF-US	Jeff Price
10. Tyndall Centre	Rachel Warren
11. TNC	Jonathan Hoekstra
12. IIED	Hannah Reid
13. Global Witness	Brendan Mackey

Observer

1. UNFCCC	Hanna Hoffmann
Resource Person	

1. UNEP-WCMC	Barney Dickson
--------------	----------------

Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (SCBD)

1. SCBD	Ian Thompson
2. SCBD	Jaime Webbe
3. SCBD	Jo Mulongoy