

Ref.: SCBD/SAM/DC/RH/KM/84452 21 May 2015

## **NOTIFICATION**

Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Indicators for the Strategic Plan on Biodiversity 2011-2020: Selected experts, date and venue

Dear Madam/Sir,

Further to notification 2015-034, I am pleased to share with you the list of selected experts for the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group (AHTEG) on Indicators for the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020, as contained in the annex to this notification.

The selection of experts was made in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA). The selection was based on expertise, regional and gender balance and taking into account the modus operandi for SBSTTA and relevant guidance in COP decision XII/1.

The AHTEG meeting will be held at the headquarters of the World Meteorological Organization, Geneva, Switzerland from 29 June to 2 July 2015. Financial support will be provided to eligible experts for their participation in the meeting. The provisional agenda for the meeting and additional background information will be available on <a href="http://www.cbd.int/doc/?meeting=ID-AHTEG-2015-01">http://www.cbd.int/doc/?meeting=ID-AHTEG-2015-01</a> in due course.

Nominated experts who were not selected for the AHTEG meeting are invited to send any relevant material that they may wish to share with the AHTEG to secretariat@cbd.int. They are also encouraged to participate in reviewing draft documentation prior to the meeting, as well as participating in the peer review of the meeting report.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias **Executive Secretary** 

Attachment

To: CBD National Focal Points, SBSTTA Focal Points, indigenous peoples and local communities and relevant organizations









## Annex

## Composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Indicators for the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020

## World Meteorological Organization Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland, 29 June - 2 July 2015

Africa

Ethiopia Misikire Tessema Lemma Nigeria John Esitadimma Onyekuru Tunisia Mohamed Ali Ben Temessek

Asia and Pacific

India Malvika Onial Japan Taku Kadoya Palau Umai Basilius

Central and Eastern Europe

Czech Republic Jan Plesnik Georgia Maka Bitsadze Turkmenistan Shirin Karryeva

Latin American and Caribbean Group

Argentina Carolina Padró

Costa Rica Alvaro Enrique Aguilar Díaz Mexico Hesiquio Benítez Díaz

Western Europe and Others Group

European Commission Anne Teller Switzerland Sarah Pearson United Kingdom Andrew Stott

**Indigenous Peoples And Local Communities** 

Andes Chinchasuyu Organization Yolanda Terán Maigua Forest Peoples Programme Jocelyn Carino-Nettleton

United Nations and Specialized Agencies

FAO Damiano Luchetti
IPPC Sonya Hammons
UNCCD Sara Minelli
UNDP Jamison Ervin
UNEP-WCMC Matt Walpole

**Organizations** 

Birdlife International
Future Earth

GBIF
GEO
Gary Geller
IISD
Livia Bizikova
IUCN
Thomas Brooks
OECD
Katia Karousakis

WWF Peter James Stephenson