



Ref.: SCBD/SPS/DC/VN/BG/jh/86620 30 June 2017

NOTIFICATION

Composition of the Informal Advisory Committee to the Access and Benefit-sharing Clearing-House

Madam/Sir,

At its first meeting, in its decision NP-1/2, paragraph 2, the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Nagoya Protocol (COP-MOP) established an informal advisory committee (IAC) to assist the Executive Secretary with the implementation of the Access and Benefit-sharing Clearing-House (ABS Clearing-House) and to provide technical guidance with respect to the resolution of technical and practical issues arising from the ongoing development of the ABS Clearing-House. The decision provides that the IAC shall be composed of 15 experts, primarily from Parties, selected on the basis of nominations provided by Parties.

At its second meeting, in decision NP-2/2, paragraph 7, the COP-MOP decided that the IAC should continue its work and will hold at least one meeting during this intersessional period (2017-2018), as well as informal online discussions as needed, and report on the outcomes of its work to the third meeting of the COP-MOP.

Pursuant to the above decisions, and in order to take into account new Parties to the Nagoya Protocol, a notification (2017-029) was sent on 27 March 2017 inviting Parties to the Nagoya Protocol to nominate an expert to renew the composition of the IAC. Based on the nominations received from Parties to the Protocol, participants were selected, taking into account regional balance, relevant experience and engagement in the ABS Clearing-House, in accordance with decision NP-1/2, paragraph 2. I am therefore pleased to convey herewith, for your information, the list of the selected experts.

A letter of invitation to a meeting of the Informal Advisory Committee, tentatively to be held in November 2017, in Montreal, Canada, will be sent to the selected experts together with relevant information concerning the meeting.

Documents for the meeting will be posted in due course on the Secretariat's web site.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Cristiana Paşca Palmer, PhD Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: ABS National Focal Points

CBD National Focal Points (where ABS focal points have not yet been designated)









INFORMAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE ACCESS AND BENEFIT-SHARING CLEARING-HOUSE

REVISED LIST OF SELECTED EXPERTS

AFRICA	
1. Ethiopia	Mr. Fikremariam Ghion Melaku
2. Kenya	Mr. Joseph Masinde
3. Sao Tomé y Principe	Mr. Abnilde de Ceita Lima
ASIA	
4. Cambodia	Ms. Somali Chan
5. Philippines	Mr. Antonio C. Manila
6. India	Mr. T. Rabikumar
CEE	
7. Albania	Ms. Elvana Ramaj
8. Belarus	Ms. Elena Makeyeva
9. Hungary	Ms. Bozena Haczek
GRULAC	
10. Argentina	Ms. Luciana Carla Silvestri
11. Cuba	Ms. Teresa Dolores Cruz Sardiñas
12. Mexico	Ms. Elleli Huerta Ocampo
WEOG	
13. European Commission	Ms. Alicja Kozlowska
14. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Mr. Christopher H C Lyal
15. Switzerland	Ms. Franziska Bosshard