

Ref.: SCBD/SPS/SBG/JL/JMQ/86366 7 September 2017

NOTIFICATION

Selected participants for the Sustainable Ocean Initiative (SOI) Training of Trainers Workshop, 25 to 29 September 2017 - Seocheon, Republic of Korea

Dear Madam/Sir,

In notification number 2017-057, dated 6 June 2017, the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity invited Parties to nominate experts to participate in the Sustainable Ocean Initiative (SOI) Training of Trainers Workshop, to be held in Seocheon, Republic of Korea. The workshop is being convened in collaboration with the Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries of the Republic of Korea, the National Marine Biodiversity Institute of Korea and various other partners of the Sustainable Ocean Initiative (SOI).

In this regard, I am pleased to announce that the selection of participants has been completed, in accordance with the selection criteria described in the above-mentioned notification. The list of selected participants is attached in the annex to this notification. The Secretariat will provide financial assistance to selected experts from developing country Parties.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Cristiana Paşca Palmer, PhD Executive Secretary

Attachment

To: CBD National Focal Points, Marine and Coastal Biodiversity National Focal Points and SBSTTA Focal Points







Sustainable Ocean Initiative (SOI) Training of Trainers Workshop, 25 to 29 September 2017 - Seocheon, Republic of Korea

Participants to be funded by the Secretariat

Africa

Mr. Ibrahim Mohamed Toihir (Comoros)

Mr. Tekle Mengstu (Eritrea)

Mr. Aboubacar Oulare (Guinea)

Ms. Fara Mihanta Andriambelo (Madagascar)

Mr. Mohamed Sheikheldin (Sudan)

Ms. Marie-May Muzungaile (Seychelles)

Asia and Pacific region

Mr. Ramachandran Ramesh (India)

Mr. Toe Toe Aung (Myanmar)

Mr. Fatutolo Iene (Samoa)

Mr. Bolanda Hakuru Premathilake (Sri Lanka)

Ms. Atelaite Matoto (Tonga)

Central and Eastern Europe region¹

Mr. Admir Aladzuz (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Latin American and Caribbean Group (GRULAC) region

Ms. Tricia Lovell (Antigua and Barbuda)

Ms. Vanessa Figueroa (Belize)

Mr. Riviere Delanco Sebastien (Dominica)

Ms. Nena Gonzales Meza (Perú)

Ms. Claudine Sakimin (Suriname)

Ms. Farahnaz Solomon (Trinidad and Tobago)

¹ Only two nominations have been submitted from this region, one of which includes the expert who has already attended the same workshop held in 2016.