

Ref.: SCBD/SPS/AS/JS/MLS/87388

24 October 2018

# NOTIFICATION

Revised list of selected indigenous and local community representatives to receive funding from the Voluntary Trust Fund for participation in the fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (COP 14), the ninth meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety (COP-MOP 9) and the third meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit Sharing (COP-MOP 3)

17 to 29 November 2018 - Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt

Madam/Sir,

Reference is made to notification 2018-079 (https://www.cbd.int/doc/notifications/2018/ntf-2018-079-IPLC-en.pdf), dated 28 September 2018, informing Parties, IPLCs and relevant organizations of the completion of the selection of representatives of indigenous peoples and local communities who will receive support for their participations in the fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (COP 14), the ninth meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety (COP-MOP 9) and the third meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit Sharing (COP-MOP 3), to be held from 17 to 29 November 2018, in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt.

Please be informed that, thanks to the generous voluntary financial contributions of donor countries, and after due consideration of all nominations received by the Advisory Selection Committee, the list of selected indigenous peoples and local communities representatives has been expanded. The final list is herewith attached for your information.

The selection was carried out in accordance with the criteria for the operation of the Voluntary Funding Mechanism to facilitate the participation of indigenous and local communities in the work of the Convention as set out in the annex to COP decision VIII/5 D, and in accordance with the selection criteria established in section B of the same annex.

Thank you for your continued cooperation and support towards the work of the Convention on Biological Diversity and its Protocols.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Cristiana Paşca Palmer, PhD Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To : CBD National Focal Points, TK Focal Points, indigenous peoples and local community organizations, and other relevant organizations







Selected indigenous and local community representatives to receive funding from the Voluntary Trust Fund for participation in the fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (COP 14), the ninth meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety (COP-MOP 9) and the third meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the Meeting of the Parties to the Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit Sharing (COP-MOP 3)

17 to 29 November 2018 - Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt

## Africa

- 1. Ms. Lucy Mulenkei
- 2. Ms. Penninah Zaninka
- 3. Mr. Mohamed Handaine
- 4. Mr. Daniel Mpoko Kobei
- 5. Mr. Joseph Itongwa Mukumo
- 6. Ms. Maimuna Umaro
- 7. Ms. Tjavarekua Elmarie Tjijahura
- 8. Mr. Patrice Sagbo
- 9. Mr. Gladman Chibememe
- 10. Mr. Henri Rakotoson

#### Arctic

- 11. Mrs. Gunn-Britt Retter
- 12. Ms Mirva Anne Marjatta Nuorgam

#### Asia

- 13. Ms. Jocelyn Carino Nettleton
- 14. Mr. Hewadhura Gedera Nimalasiri Hewanila
- 15. Mr. Gam Awungshi Shimray
- 16. Mr. Teodoro Baguilat, Jr.
- 17. Ms. Alice Mathew
- 18. Mr. Raja Sharma Rymbai
- 19. Ms. Jennifer Corpuz
- 20. Mr. Kamal Kumar Rai

## Eastern, Central Europe and the Caucasus

21. Ms. Polina Shulbaeva

## Latin America and the Caribbean

- 22. Mrs. Maria Yolanda Terán Maigua
- 23. Mr. Francisco Ramiro Batzin Chojoj
- 24. Mr. Roberto Ricardo Campos Quezada
- 25. Mr. Reynaldo Morales
- 26. Mr. Donald Rojas Maroto
- 27. Ms. Florina Lopez Miro
- 28. Ms. Ruth Spencer
- 29. Ms. Hortencia Cecilia Hidalgo Caceres
- 30. Ms. Dali Nolasco Cruz

## North America

No application was received

## Pacific

- 31. Ms. Christine Teresa Grant
- 32. Mr. Tibau Stanley Lui
- 33. Ms. Beth Tui Shortland