

Ref.: SCBD/SSSF/JL/JC/KM/90243

31 May 2022

### NOTIFICATION

# Selected participants for the expert workshop on the monitoring framework for the post-2020 global biodiversity framework as per SBSTTA Recommendation 24/2

#### 29 June to 1 July 2022 - Bonn, Germany

Dear Madam/Sir,

In its recommendation 24/2, the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA) requested the Executive Secretary, under the guidance of the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice, and with technical support from the United Nations Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre, to organize an expert workshop (inviting experts nominated by Parties with regional representation and gender balance) on proposed indicators for the post-2020 global biodiversity framework. As specified in this SBSTTA recommendation, the expert workshop will contribute to a scientific and technical review of the proposed indicators, building on the work done at SBSTTA 24, focusing on a comprehensive analysis of high-level indicators and the feasibility for Parties to use them. This workshop will be held in Bonn, Germany, from 29 June to 1 July 2022.

Pursuant to SBSTTA recommendation 24/2, the Executive Secretary, through notification 2022-019, invited Parties, other Governments, and relevant organizations to submit the name of one or more expert(s) who may be considered to participate in the workshop.

In response to this invitation, a total of 224 nominations were received, including 115 nominations from 70 Parties, 1 nomination from other Governments and 108 nominations from 80 organizations.

Based on the nominations received, and in consultation with the Bureau of SBSTTA, a list of selected experts to participate in the workshop was prepared, taking into account relevant expertise and with due regard to regional and gender balance.

I am pleased to attach herewith, as an annex to this notification, the list of selected experts. The Secretariat will financially support the participation of selected experts from eligible Parties. Letters of invitation to the workshop will be sent to the selected experts.

Further information and documents will be made available in due course on the meeting webpage at the following link: <u>https://www.cbd.int/meetings/ID-OM-2022-01.</u>

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Elizabeth Maruma Mrema Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD National Focal Points, SBSTTA National Focal Points, ABS Focal Points, Cartagena Protocol Focal Points, indigenous peoples and local communities and relevant organizations









#### Annex

# Selected participants for the expert workshop on the monitoring framework for the post-2020 global biodiversity framework as per SBSTTA Recommendation 24/2

Parties		
Region	Expert	Party
Africa	Mr. Ouoba Daogo	Burkina Faso
	Mr. Moustafa Fouda	Egypt
	Mr. Alfred Oteng-Yeboah	Ghana
	Ms. Britta Hackenberg	Namibia
	Ms. Ntakadzeni Tshidada	South Africa
Asia/Pacific	Mr. Jing Xu	China
	Mr. Vinod Mathur	India
	Ms. Ruliyana Susanti	Indonesia
	Mr. Ryo Kohsaka	Japan
	Ms. Umai Basilius	Palau
CEE	Mr. Luka Katušić	Croatia
	Ms. Salome Nozadze	Georgia
	Ms. Angela Lozan	Moldova
	Ms. Milena Bataković	Montenegro
	Mr. Slaviša Popović	Serbia
GRULAC	Mr. Alberto Santos Capra	Argentina
	Mr. Humberto Navarro de Mesquita	Brazil
	Junior	
	Ms. María Cecilia Londoño Murcia	Colombia
	Ms. Lourdes Coya de la Fuente	Cuba
	Mr. Raul Figueroa Díaz	Mexico
WEOG	Mr. Brett Painter	Canada
	Mr. Frank Wugt Larsen	European Union
	Ms. Barbara Engles	Germany
	Ms. Anne-Gaelle Elsa Ausseil	New Zealand
	Mr. Andrew Stott	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

## 29 June to 1 July 2022 - Bonn, Germany

Other Governments/Organizations		
Expert	Nominated by	
Ms. Sarah Weiskopf	United States of America	
Mr. Andreas Gettkant	ABS Capacity Development Initiative	
Mr. Stuart Butchart	Birdlife International	
Ms. Renata Pollini	Business for Nature Coalition	
Ms. Georgina Catacora Vargas	Centro de Excelencia Universitario Agroecologia - Bolivia	
Mr. David Pritchard	Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals	
Ms. Julie Bélanger	Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations	
Mr. Maurizio Farhan Ferrari	Forest Peoples Programme	
Mr. Andrew Gonzalez	GEO BON	
Mr. David Obura	International Coral Reef Initiative	
Ms. Joji Carino	International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity	
Mr. Genuar Núñez Vega	Leibniz Institute DSMZ	
Ms. Katia Karousakis	Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development	
Ms. Alessandra Alfieri	United Nations Statistics Division	
Ms. Mrinalini Rai	Fundación Ambiente y Recursos Naturales	