

Ref.: SCBD/IMS/NP/JC/KM/90718

6 April 2023

NOTIFICATION

Selected experts for the Ad hoc Technical Expert Group on Indicators for the Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework

Dear Madam/Sir,

At its fifteenth meeting, the Conference of the Parties adopted the monitoring framework for the Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework (decision 15/5). In the same decision, it also decided to establish an Ad hoc Technical Expert Group (AHTEG), with a time-bound mandate until the sixteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties, to advise on the further operationalization of the monitoring framework.

Pursuant to this decision, the Executive Secretary, through notification <u>2023-001</u>, invited Parties and observers to submit the name of one or more expert(s) who could be considered to participate in the AHTEG. In response to this invitation, 242 nominations were received, 126 experts were nominated by 63 Parties and other Governments and 116 experts were nominated by 87 observer organizations.

The list of selected experts of the AHTEG, including 30 from Parties and 15 from observers, was prepared in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice, taking into account all the considerations as described in the above-noted notification 2023-001. The list is appended to this notification. The Secretariat will contact the selected experts to arrange their participation in the AHTEG.

Please also note that a webpage for the AHTEG has been created and is accessible through the following link: <u>https://www.cbd.int/gbf/monitoring/ind/</u>. Additional information on the AHTEG, including the meeting documents, will be made available on this webpage in due course.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

David Cooper Acting Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD Focal Points, ABS National Focal Points, Cartagena Protocol Focal Points, SBSTTA Focal Points, indigenous peoples and local communities and relevant organizations









Selected experts for the Ad hoc Technical Expert Group on Indicators for the Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework

Parties			
Region	Party	Expert	
Africa	Burundi	Mr. Onesphore Masabo	
	Central African Republic	Mr. Cleoface Landry Mabessimo	
	Ghana	Mr. Alfred Apau Oteng-yeboah	
	Namibia	Ms. Britta Hackenberg	
	Nigeria	Ms. Egbuwalo Sikeade Oluwakemi	
	South Africa	Ms. Ntakadzeni Tshidada	
Asia and	China	Mr. Jing Xu	
Pacific	Indonesia	Ms. Ruliyana Susanti	
	Japan	Mr. Ryo Kohsaka	
	Malaysia	Ms. Lillian Chua Swee-lian	
	Pakistan	Mr. Rizwan Irshad	
	Türkiye	Mr. Muhammed Hakan Çakmak	
Central	Belarus	Mr. Vasili Shakun	
and	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Ms. Belma Kalamujić Stroil	
Eastern	Czechia	Me. Jan Dušek	
Europe	Georgia	Ms. Salome Nozadze	
	Hungary	Mr. Zsolt Molnár	
	Montenegro	Ms. Milena Bataković	
Group of	Antigua and Barbuda	Ms. Shanna Challenger	
Latin	Argentina	Mr. Alberto Santos Capra	
America	Brazil	Mr. Geraldo Wilson Fernandes	
and	Colombia	Ms. Maria Cecilia Londoño Murcia	
Caribbean Countries	Jamaica	Ms. Andrea Donaldson	
	Mexico	Mr. Arturo Flores Martínez	
Western	Australia	Mr. Piers Dunstan	
European	Canada	Mr. Brett Painter	
and	European Union	Ms. Sara Vallecillo	
Others	France	Ms. Odile Conchou	
Group	Norway	Ms. Lucrezia Gorini	
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Mr James Williams	

Observers		
Organization	Expert	
Forest Peoples Programme	Mr. Maurizio Farhan Ferrari	
International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity (IIFB)	Ms. Joji Carino	
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)	Ms. Julie Bélanger	
Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO (IOC)	Mr. Stephen Widdicombe	
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)	Mr. Marc Titus Cebreros	
United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD)	Ms. Alessandra Alfieri	

World Bank	Ms. Macha Petronella Kemperman
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)	Mr. Tim Hirsch
GEO BON	Mr. Andrew Gonzalez
International Union for Conservation of Nature	Ms. Emily Nicholson
(IUCN)	
Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment	Ms. Tiffany Straza
Programme (SPREP)	
Birdlife International	Mr. Stuart Butchart
Coastal Oceans Research and Development –	Mr. David Obura
Indian Ocean (CORDIO)	
Global Youth Biodiversity Network	Ms. Josefa Isabel Cariño Tauli
Leibniz Institute	Ms. Amber Hartman Scholz