

Ref.: SCBD/CPU/DC/WM/MW/90935 26 May 2023

NOTIFICATION Composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Synthetic Biology

Dear Madam/Sir,

Further to notification 2023-034 issued on 27 March 2023, nominations were received with a view to constituting the membership in the multidisciplinary ad hoc technical expert group on synthetic biology (AHTEG) established by the Conference of the Parties, in its decision 15/31, to support the process for broad and regular horizon scanning, monitoring and assessment, in accordance with the terms of reference annexed to the decision. The selection of members has now been concluded in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice, taking into account their relevant expertise and experience, as well as gender balance and equitable geographical representation and following the procedure for avoiding or managing conflicts of interest as set out in the annex to decision 14/33.

I am, therefore, pleased to announce the composition of the multidisciplinary AHTEG attached herewith.

With the generous financial support of the European Union, a meeting of the multidisciplinary AHTEG will be convened in Montreal, Canada from 11 to 14 July 2023. Further information and documents for the meeting will be made available at: https://www.cbd.int/meetings/SYNBIO-AHTEG-2023-01.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

(Signed) David Cooper Acting Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD national focal points, relevant organizations and indigenous peoples and local communities cc: SBSTTA national focal points, Cartagena Protocol national focal points









Annex

Composition of the multidisciplinary Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Synthetic Biology

PARTIES

| REGION | COUNTRY | EXPERT |
|--|------------------------|-----------------------------------|
| Africa | Burkina Faso | 1. Mr. Nicolas Barro |
| | Burundi | 2. Mr. Frédéric Ngezahayo |
| | Egypt | 3. Mr. Ossama AbdelKawy |
| | Zimbabwe | 4. Ms. Natasha Robertha Mavengere |
| Asia and Pacific | China | 5. Mr. Weiwen Zhang |
| | Philippines | 6. Ms. Eizadora T. Yu |
| | Pakistan | 7. Mr. Zabta Khan Shinwari |
| | Republic of Korea | 8. Mr. Bong Hyun Sung |
| | Belarus | 9. Ms. Galina Mozgova |
| Central and Eastern Europe | Bosnia and Herzegovina | 10. Ms. Dragana Šnjegota |
| | Lithuania | 11. Mr. Florian Rabitz |
| | Slovenia | 12. Mr. Martin Batič |
| Western European and Others Group | Canada | 13. Mr. Ian Siboo |
| | European Union | 14. Ms. Kathleen Lehmann |
| | Germany | 15. Ms. Margret Engelhard |
| | Israel | 16. Ms. Ronit Justo-Hanani |
| Group of Latin America and Caribbean Countries | Antigua and Barbuda | 17. Ms. Kishma Primus-Ormond |
| | Brazil | 18. Mr. Isaque Medeiros Siqueira |
| | Colombia | 19. Ms. Carolina Villafañe Palau |
| | Ecuador | 20. Mr. Francisco Javier Flores |

OTHER GOVERNMENTS

| COUNTRY | EXPERT |
|--------------------------|------------------------|
| United States of America | 1. Ms. Jennifer Shinen |

ORGANIZATIONS

| ORGANIZATION | EXPERT |
|--|-----------------------------------|
| Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations | 1. Mr. Chikelu Mba |
| World Intellectual Property Organization | 2. Mr. Shakeel Thomas Bhatti |
| International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology | 3. Ms. Wendy Craig |
| Fundación Ambiente y Recursos Naturales | 4. Ms. Cicilia Githaiga |
| Global Industry Coalition | 5. Ms. Felicity Keiper |
| J. Craig Venter Institute | 6. Mr. Robert Friedman |
| University of Melbourne | 7. Ms. Tiffany Kosch |
| Federation of German Scientists | 8. Ms. Ricarda Steinbrecher |
| Third World Network | 9. Ms. Eva Sirinathsinghji |
| Friends of the Earth U.S. | 10.Mr. Jim Thomas |
| Global Youth Biodiversity Network | 11.Mr. Joel Andrés Rojas González |
| Global Youth Online Union (G-YOU) | 12.Mr. Markus Schmidt |
| SynBio Africa | 13.Mr. Geoffrey Otim |
| Save Our Seeds (Foundation of Future Farming) | 14.Ms. Barbara Couto Pilz |

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES

| ORGANIZATION | EXPERT |
|--|-----------------------------------|
| International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity | 1. Ms. Maria Yolanda Teran Maigua |
| Indigenous Genomics Institute | 2. Mr. Karaitiana Taiuru |
