

Ref.: SCBD/SSSF/JL/JA/JG/90829 16 June 2023

NOTIFICATION

Composition of the informal advisory group for ecologically or biologically significant marine areas

Dear Madam/Sir,

In paragraph 11 of <u>decision XIII/12</u>, the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity requested the Executive Secretary to establish an informal advisory group for ecologically or biologically significant marine areas (EBSAs). The terms of reference for the informal advisory group were provided in annex III of decision XIII/12 and amended to include additional tasks through <u>decision 14/9</u> (annex III). The informal advisory group met three times between June 2018 and April 2022. In paragraph 3 of <u>decision 15/26</u>, the Conference of the Parties decided to extend the term of the informal advisory group.

The informal advisory group will provide scientific and technical advice to the Executive Secretary as elaborated in the terms of reference. It is expected to work through different modalities, including e-mail communications, virtual meetings (e.g., teleconference and videoconference) and in-person meetings, subject to the availability of resources, including in conjunction with other meetings (e.g., meetings of the SBSTTA and the Conference of the Parties).

Experts have been selected to participate in the informal advisory group for EBSAs based on nominations submitted by Parties, relevant organizations, and indigenous peoples and local communities in response to notification 2023-014, dated 22 February 2023. I am pleased to attach herewith, as an annex to this notification, the list of selected experts.

The selection process took place in line with the criteria outlined in the above-mentioned notification, in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice, taking into account the need to ensure geographical distribution and gender balance.

Information regarding the first meeting of the informal advisory group on EBSAs will be communicated in due course, once the dates are selected.

Thank you for your cooperation in this matter and your continued support of the work of the Convention.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

(Signed) David Cooper Acting Executive Secretary

Attachment

To: CBD national focal points, SBSTTA focal points, and Marine and Coastal Biodiversity national focal points; relevant organizations; and indigenous peoples and local communities









ANNEX

Selected experts to participate in the informal advisory group for ecologically or biologically significant marine areas

Africa

Côte d'IvoireMr. Soumaïla SyllaMauritaniaMr. Mallé DiaganaMozambiqueMr. Salomao BandeiraSeychellesMs. Marie-Mae Jeremie

Asia and the Pacific

China Mr. Lu Xiaoqiang
Japan Mr. Takehisa Yamakita
Malaysia Ms. Lim Ai Gak
Türkiye Ms. Göçe Akan

Central and Eastern Europe*

Bosnia and Herzegovina Ms. Adla Kahrić

Georgia Ms. Mariami Matcharashvili

Slovenia Mr. Borut Mavrič

Latin American and Caribbean Group

Antigua and Barbuda Mr. Ruleo A. Camacho

Ecuador Ms. Alba Katherine Calles Procel

Grenada Mr. Jerry J. Enoe Mexico Ms. Elva Escobar

Western Europe and Other States Group

Australia Mr. Piers Dunstan
Israel Mr. Simon Nemtzov
Norway Ms. Eva Degre
Portugal Ms. Teresa Leonardo

Other Governments

United States of America Mr. Mark Monaco

Indigenous Peoples and Local Communities

International Collective in Support of Fishworkers Ms. Sivaja K Nair

Organizations

Deep-Ocean Stewardship Initiative Ms. Ana Colaço
UN Food and Agriculture Organization Mr. Kim Friedman
Global Ocean Biodiversity Initiative Mr. David Johnson

IUCN-Fisheries Expert Group /
European Bureau for Conservation and Development Mr. Jake Rice
International Union for Conservation of Nature Ms. Aurelie Spadone

Lyell Centre Ms. Daniela Diz

Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme Mr. Peter Davies

United Nations Environment Programme Ms. Nancy Cherop Soi WWF Germany Mr. Tim Packeiser

^{*}A fourth expert could not be selected from the CEE region due to an insufficient number of nominations received.