

Ref.: SCBD/SSSF/JL/ML/GD/90824

16 June 2023

NOTIFICATION

Composition of the Technical Expert Group on Financial Reporting

Dear Madam/Sir,

I am pleased to circulate herewith the composition of the Technical Expert Group on Financial Reporting, established by the Conference of the Parties in <u>decision 15/7</u> on resource mobilization.

Annex III of the decision provides that the Technical Expert Group shall be composed of technical experts on biodiversity finance statistics from Parties, as well as observers and other relevant organizations.

In response to notification <u>2023-012</u> of 21 February 2023, nominations were received from governments and from relevant organizations, including members of the scientific community and organizations representing indigenous peoples and local communities, women and youth.

Based on the criteria specified in Annex III of decision 15/7, and with due regard to regional and gender balance, the Secretariat has selected 23 experts.

A physical meeting of the Technical Expert Group on Financial Reporting is tentatively scheduled to be held from 27 November to 1 December 2023. A preparatory online meeting is tentatively scheduled on 24 October 2023. Further information and documents for the meeting will be made available in due course.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

(Signed) David Cooper Acting Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD national focal points, Resource Mobilization national focal points, indigenous peoples and local communities, women and youth organizations, relevant organizations and initiatives and relevant stakeholders









Annex Selected experts for the Technical Expert Group on Financial Reporting

Parties			
Region	Party	Expert	
Africa	Cameroon	Ms. Josephine Therese Eloundou Beyala	
	Egypt	Mr. Ahmed Mohamed Abdel Maksoud	
	Madagascar	Ms. Hanitra Lalaina Randrianasolo	
Asia and the Pacific ¹	China	Mr. Jing Xu	
	Lao (People's Democratic Republic)	Mr. Soukvilay Vilavong	
Central and Eastern Europe ²	Belarus	Mr. Andrei Kuzmich	
	Georgia	Mr. Tornike Phulariani	
Latin America and the Caribbean ³	Brazil	Ms. Livia Farias F. De Oliveira	
	Colombia	Mr. Juan Camilo Pinto Ojeda	
	Peru	Mr. Luis Marino Nava	
Western European and Others	Finland	Ms. Johanna Pakarinen	
	France	Mr. Arthur Francois	
	Switzerland	Mr. Rene Kaspar	

Organizations and networks		
Organization	Expert	
Ogiek Peoples' Development Program	Mr. Daniel M. Kobei	
World Benchmarking Alliance (WBA)	Mr. Nicolas Sauviat	
Campaign for Nature	Mr. Mark Opel	
Global Youth Biodiversity Network (GYBN)	Ms. Ronja Fischer	
Fundación Ambiente y Recursos Naturales	Ms. Cathy Yitong Li	
(FARN)		
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)	Ms. Mariana Bellot	
Cornell University	Mr. John Tobin de la Puente	
Wilderness Foundation Africa (WFA)	Ms. Candice Stevens	
Organization for Economic Cooperation and	Mr. Edward Perry	
Development (OECD)		
Organization for Economic Cooperation and	Mr. Juan Casado-Asensio	
Development (OECD)		

Nominations were received only from the two Parties listed.
Nominations were received only from the two Parties listed.
Nominations were received only from the three Parties listed.