Convention on Biological Diversity

Ref.: SCBD/NPU/DC/TS/CGA/AC/91433

15 January 2024

NOTIFICATION Composition of the Informal Advisory Group on Benefit-sharing from the Use of Digital Sequence Information on Genetic Resources

Dear Sir or Madam,

I am pleased to share the composition of the Informal Advisory Group on Benefit-sharing from the Use of Digital Sequence Information on Genetic Resources and would like to thank all that sent nominations.

The Informal Advisory Group (IAG) was established at the first meeting of the Ad Hoc Openended Working Group on Benefit-sharing from the Use of Digital Sequence Information on Genetic Resources (WGDSI-1), convened in November 2023, with the view to invite experts and exchange ideas in an inclusive and informal way on some of the "Elements on which there is a need for further discussion", which can be found in the annex to the <u>WGDSI-1 report</u>. The co-chairs of this IAG, Ms. Mphatso Kalemba (Malawi) and Mr. William Lockhart (United Kingdom), will report the outcomes of its work to the Working Group at its second meeting, scheduled for August 2024.

In response to the call for nominations to Parties, other Governments, indigenous peoples and local communities (IPLCs) and stakeholders (see notification 2023-130 issued on 1 December 2023), 58 Parties and non-Party Governments, as well as 84 various stakeholder groups, sent nominations for representatives. The IAG is open to all Party and non-Party States, and therefore, all those nominated are included. Six individuals representing different socio-cultural regions were selected in consultation with the International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity, and 38 representatives from stakeholder groups from academic and research, databases, business, NGOs, women, youth, civil society, IGOs and others were selected based on pertinence, gender and regional balance. I am, therefore, pleased to announce the composition of the IAG attached herewith.

The IAG will meet online monthly, rotating times in order to accommodate the different time zones. A preparatory meeting will take place on Tuesday, 16 January 2024 at 7:00 a.m. EST, and subsequent meetings will be posted on the CBD <u>calendar of meetings</u> as they are scheduled. Additionally, the presentations made by experts at the preparatory meeting will be posted on the IAG <u>meeting page</u>, pending their approval. Members will receive more detailed information by e-mail.

Please accept, Sir, Madam, the assurances of my highest consideration.

(Signed) David **Cooper** Acting Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD national focal points, ABS focal points, Cartagena Protocol focal points, indigenous peoples and local communities and relevant organizations









Annex Members of the Informal Advisory Group on Benefit-sharing from the Use of Digital Sequence Information on Genetic Resources

Party and non-Party Governments African States	Eastern European States
Algeria	Belarus
Benin	Croatia
Burkina Faso	Czechia
Comoros	Georgia
Côte d'Ivoire	Hungary
Egypt	Poland
Kenya	
Madagascar	Latin American and Caribbean States
Malawi	Argentina
Morocco	Brazil
Namibia	Chile
Nigeria	Colombia
Rwanda	Mexico
South Africa	Peru
Sudan	Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Asia-Pacific States	Western European and other States
Cambodia	Australia
China	Austria
India	Belgium
Indonesia	Canada
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	Denmark
Japan	European Union
Lao People's Democratic Republic	Finland
Malaysia	France
Philippines	Germany
Republic of Korea	Netherlands
Saudi Arabia	Norway
Tajikistan	Spain
Thailand	Sweden
	Switzerland
	Türkiye
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern
	Ireland

Party and non-Party Governments

Non-Party governments

United States of America		
--------------------------	--	--

Indigenous Peoples and Local Communities

Organization	<u>Member</u>
Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact (AIPP)	Jennifer Corpuz Tauli
Center for Support of Indigenous Peoples of the North (CSIPN / RITC)	Polina Shulbaeva

International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity (IIFB) Africa	Faith Nataya Saningo
International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity (IIFB)	KatieLee Riddle
Red de Mujeres Indígenas sobre Biodiversidad de	Yolanda Terán
América Latina y el Caribe (RMIB-LAC)	
Tebtebba Foundation (Indigenous Peoples'	Preston Hardison
International Centre for Policy Research and	
Education)	

Organizations and stakeholders

Organization	Member
ABS Capacity Development Initiative	Suhel Al-Janabi
ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity	Corazon Che de Jesus
Avaaz	Edda Fernandez Luiselli
Brazilian Bioinnovation Association (Associação	Luiza Helena da Matta Ribeiro
Brasileira de Biotecnologia Industrial (ABBI))	
CAB International (CABI)	Matthew Ryan
CBD Women's Caucus	Cicilia Githaiga
Centre d'Accompagnement des Alternatives Locales	Gervais Nzoa
de Développement (CAALD)	
Chemichemi Foundation	Nancy Marangu
Chibememe Earth Healing Association (CHIEHA)	Gladman Chibememe
Chinese Academy of Sciences	Wei Wei
Consultative Group on International Agricultural	Michael Halewood
Research (CGIAR)	
Corporación Corpogen - Research Center	Maria Mercedes Zambrano
CropLife International	Dominic Muyldermans
Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea	Bingzhuo Li
DNA Data Bank of Japan	Masanori Arita
Earth Biogenome Project	Manuela Da Silva
European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI)	Guy Cochrane
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United	Dan Leskien
Nations (FAO)	
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)	Tim Hirsch
Global Environment Facility Secretariat (GEF)	Jurgis Sapijanskas
Global Youth Biodiversity Network	Josefa Cariño Tauli
Griffith University	Michelle Rourke
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)	Daphne Yong-d'Hervé
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)	Catherine Lang'at
International Federation of Pharmaceutical	Axel Braun
Manufacturers and Associations (IFPMA)	
International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI)	Sally Katee Mueni
International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for	Daniele Manzella
Food and Agriculture (ITPGRFA)	
Japan Bioindustry Association	Naoto Koyama
Leibniz Institute DSMZ	Amber Hartman Scholz
Manchester Institute of Innovation, Research, Alliance	Paul Oldham
Manchester Business School	
Meridian Institute	Julian Portilla
Native BioData Consortium	Ann McCartney

Peruvian Society for Environmental Law (SPDA) Sociedad Peruana de Derecho Ambiental	Manuel Ruiz Muller
Synpa	Markus Wyss
Third World Network (TWN)	Nithin Ramakrishnan
Wellcome Sanger Institute	David Nicholson
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)	TBD
World Health Organization (WHO)	Daniel Hougendobler
