



Ref.: SCBD/ABS/VN/SG/75308 15 March 2011

NOTIFICATION

Composition of Expert Meeting on the Modalities of Operation of the Access and Benefitsharing Clearing-House Montreal, Canada, 11-14 April 2011

Dear Madam/Sir,

In accordance with Decision X/1, paragraph 12 and Annex II, the Open-ended Ad-hoc Intergovernmental Committee for the Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit-sharing will consider the modalities of operation of the ABS Clearing-House, including reports on its activities, at its first meeting, from 6 to 10 June 2011. In preparation for this first meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee, an Expert Meeting will be held on the modalities of operation of the ABS Clearing-House, from 11-14 April 2011, in Montreal, Canada.

The expert meeting will focus on practical considerations related to the establishment of the ABS Clearing-House with a view to provide input to the first meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee and to assist countries with the early ratification and implementation of the Nagoya Protocol. The meeting will build on existing experience and lessons learned from the establishment of other clearing house mechanisms, in particular the Biosafety Clearing-House. The report of the expert meeting will be made available to the first meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee for its consideration.

In accordance with the above, by Notification 2011-09 of 18 January 2011, the Executive Secretary invited Parties, indigenous and local communities, relevant international organizations and other stakeholders to nominate experts and observers for the meeting by 18 February 2011. As set out in the Notification, the group of experts is to be composed of a maximum of eight experts per region and ten observers. As of 11 March 2011, the Secretariat had received 17 nominations from Africa, 14 from Asia, 7 from CEE, 8 from Latin America and the Caribbean, and 4 from the WEOG. On the basis of these nominations, 35 experts and 10 observers were selected taking into account their expertise, the need to ensure equitable geographical

To: CBD Focal Points, ABS Focal Points, ICNP Focal Points, International organizations, indigenous and local community organizations and relevant stakeholders





distribution, and with due regard to gender balance. The list of selected experts and observers was approved by the Bureau.

The list of selected experts and observers is attached for your information. A letter of invitation will be sent to selected experts and observers together with information of relevance to their participation in the meeting. Please note also that the documents for the meeting will be posted in due course on the Secretariat's web site at: http://www.cbd.int/meetings/.

I thank you for your cooperation and continued support to the Convention.

Please accept, Madam/Sir the assurances of my highest consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Ahmed Djoghlaf Executive Secretary

Expert Meeting on the Modalities of Operation of the ABS Clearing House Montreal, Canada, 11-14 April 2011

Experts

AFRICA

Botswana Dr. Michael Vosa Flyman Ethiopia Mr. Abiyot Birhanu

Madagascar Mrs. Voahangy Raharimalala Morocco Mr. Mostafa Madbouhi Namibia Mr. Pierre Du Plessis Niger Dr. Gado Zaki Mahaman Rwanda Mr. Rwihaniza Jean Gapusi

Sudan Dr. Abdelbagi Mukhtar Ali Ghanim

ASIA and the **PACIFIC**

China Mr. Xu Jing

India Mr. C. Achalender Reddy
Japan Ms. Tokuko Nabeshima
Kiribati Mr. Puta Tofinga
Malaysia Dr. Saw Leng Guan
Philippines Ms. Nermalie M. Lita
Saudi Arabia Mr. Yousef Al-Hafedh
Thailand Ms. Patarin Sanghaisuk

CEE

Croatia Ms. Dubravka Stepic
Georgia Ms. Anna Rukhadze
Hungary Ms. Ditta Greguss
Republic of Moldova Mrs. Ala Rotaru

Tajikistan Mrs. Tatiana Novikova Turkmenistan Dr. Shirin Karryeva Ukraine Dr. Sergiy Gubar

GRULAC

Argentina Ms. Inés Kasulin

Brazil Ms. Eliana Maria Gouveia Fontes Colombia Mr. Rodrigo Moreno Villamil Costa Rica Mr. Jose Alfredo Hernández Ugalde Cuba Ms. Teresa Dolores Cruz Sardiñas

Ecuador Dr. Wilson Rojas

Guatemala Mr. Edgar Selvin Pérez Pérez Mexico Ms. Elleli Huerta Ocampo

WEOG

Canada Mr. Desmond Mahon European Commission Mr. Vassilis Koutsiouris

Finland Mrs. Katileena Lohtander-Buckbee

United Kingdom Dr. Christopher Lyal

Observers

INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS AND AGREEMENTS

International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture, Mr. Kent Nnadozie Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN, Mr. Dan Leskien The Global Environment Facility, Mr. Jaime Cavelier

INDUSTRY

International Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Thomas E. Nickson

RESEARCH INSTITUTIONS / ACADEMIA

German Research Foundation, Dr. Christoph Haeuser

INDIGENOUS AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES

Consejo Regional Otomi del Alto Lerma, Dr. Mindahi Crescencio Bastida Muñoz Foundation for Aboriginal and Islander Research Action (FAIRA), Mr. Robert Leslie Malezer Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON), Ms. Tatiana S. Degai The Tulalip Tribes, Mr. Preston Hardison

COP-10 PRESIDENCY

Japan Mr. Keiichi Nakazawa