

Ref.: SCBD/BS/WDY/ps/83084

17 January 2014

NOTIFICATION

Composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Socio-economic Considerations (Article 26 of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety)

Madam/Sir,

Further to Notification 2013-009 of 11 November 2013, nominations were received and the selection of experts has been concluded for the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Socio-economic Considerations.

I am, therefore, pleased to announce the composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group (AHTEG) attached herewith, as approved by the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety (COP-MOP). Due to the limited amount of the financial contribution made available to the meeting of the AHTEG, only five experts per region were selected in accordance with the terms of reference specified in the annex to decision BS-VI/13 of the sixth meeting of the COP-MOP, and also taking into account participation in the online discussions held last year on the subject.

With the generous offer of financial contribution received from the Governments of Norway and the Republic of Korea, and the kind offer by the latter to host it, the meeting of the AHTEG is scheduled to be convened in Seoul from 17 to 21 February 2014. Further information and documents on the meeting of the AHTEG will be made available on: <u>http://www.cbd.int/doc/?meeting=BS-AHTEG-SEC-01</u>.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety National Focal Points CBD National Focal Points (where CPB focal points have not yet been designated) Relevant international organizations





Annex

COMPOSITION OF THE AHTEG ON SOCIO-ECONOMIC CONSIDERATIONS (ARTICLE 26 OF THE CARTAGENA PROTOCOL ON BIOSAFETY)

REGION	COUNTRY	MEMBER
Africa	Egypt	Mr. Ossama Abdelkawy
	Liberia	Mr. Johansen Voker
	Morocco	Mr. Noreddine Benkerroum
	Niger	Mr. Mahaman Gado Zaki
	South Africa	Mr. Ben David Durham
Asia-Pacific	India	Dr. Ranjini Warrier
	Malaysia	Dr. Letchumanan Ramatha
	Philippines	Dr. Leonardo Gonzales
	Republic of Korea	Dr. Hong-Tak Lim
	Thailand	Ms. Praopan Tongsom
CEE	Azerbaijan	Mr. Rashad Allahverdiyev
	Belarus	Dr. Elena Makeyeva
	Hungary	Dr. Rita Andorkó
	Lithuania	Dr. Daiva Skuciene
	Rep. of Moldova	Dr. Angela Lozan
GRULAC	Bolivia	Ms. Sorka Copa Romero
	Brazil	Mr. Saulo Arantes Ceolin
	Dominican Republic	Dr. Genaro Reynoso
	Honduras	Dr. Maria Mercedes Roca
	Mexico	Ms. Martha Elva Germán Sánchez
WEOG	Austria	Dr. Andreas Heissenberger
	European Union	Mr. Thomas Bregeon
	France	Mr. Martin Remondet
	Norway	Mr. Casper Linnestad
	Spain	Mr. Omar del Rio

PARTIES

OTHER GOVERNMENTS

COUNTRY	OBSERVER
United States of America	Ms. Mary Lisa Madell

ORGANIZATIONS

ORGANIZATION	OBSERVER
GenØk - Centre for Biosafety	Dr. Rosa Binimelis
Global Industry Coalition	Dr. Eric Sachs
Universidad Nacional de General Sarmiento	Prof. Walter Pengue
Third World Network	Ms. Li Ching Lim