

Ref.: SCBD/SPS/DC/MPM/KG/PS/86495 12 July 2017

NOTIFICATION

Composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Socio-economic Considerations (Article 26 of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety)

Madam/Sir,

Further to Notification 2017-039¹, issued on 1 May 2017, nominations were received with a view to replacing those experts that were no longer available to serve on the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Socio-economic Considerations (AHTEG). The selection of new members has now been concluded in consultation with the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety, taking into account their relevant field of expertise with due regard to geographical representation and gender balance.

I am, therefore, pleased to announce the composition of the AHTEG attached herewith.

With the generous financial support of the Governments of the Netherlands, Finland and France, and the kind offer to host by the Government of Slovenia, a meeting of the AHTEG will be convened in Ljubljana from 9 to 13 October 2017. Further information and documents for the meeting will be made available on: https://www.cbd.int/doc/?meeting=CPSEC-AHTEG-2017-01.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Cristiana Pașca Palmer, PhD Executive Secretary

Enclosure

secretariat@cbd.int

To: Cartagena Protocol National Focal Points, CBD National Focal Points (where CPB focal points have not yet been designated), relevant organizations, indigenous peoples and local communities





Fax: +1 514 288 65 www.cbd.int



Notification 2017-039 is available at https://www.cbd.int/doc/notifications/2017/ntf-2017-039-bs-en.pdf?dowload

Annex

COMPOSITION OF THE AD HOC TECHNICAL EXPERT GROUP ON SOCIO-ECONOMIC CONSIDERATIONS

PARTIES

REGION	COUNTRY	MEMBER
	Mauritania	Mr. Ossama Abdelkawy
Africa	Morocco	Mr. Noreddine Benkerroum
	Niger	Mr. Mahaman Gado Zaki
	Nigeria	Mr. Abisabo Adamu
	South Africa	Mr. Ben David Durham
	China	Mr. Jintao Zhan
	India	Ms. Ranjini Warrier
Asia-Pacific	Philippines	Mr. Leonardo Gonzales
	Republic of Korea	Mr. Hong-Tak Lim
	Thailand	Ms. Praopan Tongsom
	Belarus	Ms. Galina Mozgova
CEE	Hungary	Ms. Rita Andorkó
	Lithuania	Ms. Daiva Skuciene
	Republic of Moldova	Ms. Angela Lozan
	Slovenia	Mr. Martin Batic
	Austria	Mr. Andreas Heissenberger
	European Union	Mr. Pablo Pindado
WEOG	France	Mr. Martin Remondet
	Germany	Ms. Nicola Consmüller
	Norway	Mr. Casper Linnestad
	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)	Ms. Georgina Catacora-Vargas
	Brazil	Ms. Fernanda Antinolfi Lovato
GRULAC	Dominican Republic	Mr. Genaro Reynoso
	Honduras	Mr. Carlos Almendares
	Mexico	Ms. Nathalie Beatriz Campos Reales Pineda

OTHER GOVERNMENTS

COUNTRY	OBSERVER
Canada	Ms. Catherine Walter

ORGANIZATIONS

ORGANIZATION	OBSERVER
GenØk - Centre for Biosafety	Dr. Rosa Binimelis
Global Industry Coalition	Dr. Eric Sachs
Universidad Nacional de General Sarmiento	Prof. Walter Pengue
Third World Network	Ms. Li Ching Lim

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES

ORGANIZATION	OBSERVER
International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity (IIFB)	Ms. June Batang-ay