

Ref.: SCBD/CPU/KG/MA/MW/87944 5 April 2019

NOTIFICATION Composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Synthetic Biology

Madam/Sir,

Further to Notification 2019-023, issued on 20 February 2019, nominations were received with a view to renewing the membership in the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Synthetic Biology (AHTEG). The selection of new members has now been concluded in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice, taking into account their relevant field of expertise with due regard to geographical representation and gender balance and following the procedure for avoiding or managing conflicts of interest as set out in the annex to decision 14/33.

I am, therefore, pleased to announce the composition of the AHTEG attached herewith.

With the generous financial support of the European Union, a meeting of the AHTEG will be convened in Montreal, Canada from 4 to 7 June 2019. Further information and documents for the meeting will be made available on: https://www.cbd.int/meetings/SYNBIO-AHTEG-2019-01.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Cristiana Paşca Palmer, PhD Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: CBD National Focal Points, relevant organizations and indigenous peoples and local communities cc: SBSTTA National Focal Points, Cartagena Protocol National Focal Points

secretariat@cbd.int







www.chd.int

Annex

COMPOSITION OF THE AD HOC TECHNICAL EXPERT GROUP ON SYNTHETIC BIOLOGY

PARTIES

REGION	COUNTRY	EXPERT
Africa	South Africa	Ms. Ntakadzeni Tshidada
	Sudan	Ms. Nada Babiker Hamza
	Madagascar	Mr. Jean Roger Rakotoarijaona
	Benin	Mr. Félicien Amakpe
	Namibia	Mr. Filemon Nghitilanganye Shindume
	China	Mr. Yongbo Liu
	Malaysia	Ms. Mohana Anita Anthonysamy
Asia-Pacific	Syrian Arab Republic	Mr. Ossama Abdelkawy
	Philippines	Ms. Flerida Cariño
	Viet Nam	Ms. Le Thi Thu Hien
	Belarus	Ms. Galina Mozgova
	Bulgaria	Mr. Nikolay Tzvetkov
CEE	Republic of Moldova	Ms. Angela Lozan
	Slovenia	Mr. Martin Batič
	Serbia	Mr. Aleksej Tarasev
	Norway	Mr. Casper Linnestad
	Austria	Mr. Helmut Gaugitsch
WEOG	Canada	Mr. Jim Louter
	Australia	Ms. Louisa Matthew
	Germany	Ms. Margret Engelhard
GRULAC	Brazil	Ms. Luciana Ambrozevicius
	Cuba	Mr. Lazaro Regalado
	Mexico	Mr. Emmanuel González-Ortega
	Ecuador	Ms. Maria de Lourdes Torres
	Colombia	Mr. Carlos Augusto Ospina Bravo

OTHER GOVERNMENTS

COUNTRY	EXPERT
United States of America	Ms. Jennifer Shinen

ORGANIZATIONS

ORGANIZATION	EXPERT
EuropaBio	Ms. Felicity Keiper
Third World Network	Ms. Li Ching Lim
J. Craig Venter Institute	Mr. Robert Friedman
GenØk - Centre for Biosafety	Ms. Sarah Agapito-Tenfen
Federation of German Scientists	Ms. Ricarda Steinbrecher
IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature)	Mr. Dan Tompkins
ETC Group	Mr. Jim Thomas
WHO (World Health Organization)	Ms. Rosamund Lewis
North Carolina State University	Mr. Todd Kuiken

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES

ORGANIZATION	MEMBER
Ole Siosiomaga Society Inc (OLSSI)	Mr. Sapa Saifaleupolu
La Red de Mujeres Indigenas sobre Biodiversidad de America Latina y el Caribe	Ms. Maria Yolanda Teran Maigua