

Ref.: SCBD/CPU/DC/KG/PD/PS/88246 15 October 2019

NOTIFICATION

Composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Socio-economic Considerations (Article 26 of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety)

Madam/Sir,

The selection of new members for the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Socio-economic Considerations (AHTEG) has now been concluded and I am pleased, therefore, to announce the composition of the AHTEG attached herewith.

As you may recall, nominations were invited further to Notification 2019-068 issued on 7 August 2019, with a view to replacing those experts that were no longer available to serve on the AHTEG. The selection has been made in consultation with the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety, taking into account the fields of expertise of the nominated experts and with due regard to geographical representation and gender balance.

With the generous financial support of the European Union and the Government of Norway, and the kind offer to host by the Government of Austria, a meeting of the AHTEG will be convened in Vienna from 10 to 13 December 2019. Further information and documents for the meeting will be made available on: https://www.cbd.int/meetings/CP-SEC-AHTEG-2019-01.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Cristiana Paşca Palmer, PhD Executive Secretary

To: Cartagena Protocol National Focal Points, CBD National Focal Points (where CPB focal points have not yet been designated), relevant organizations, indigenous peoples and local communities









Annex

COMPOSITION OF THE AD HOC TECHNICAL EXPERT GROUP ON SOCIO-ECONOMIC CONSIDERATIONS

PARTIES

REGION	COUNTRY	MEMBER
Africa	Ghana	Ms. Esther Wahaga
	Niger	Mr. Mahaman Gado Zaki
	Nigeria	Mr. Abisabo Adamu
	Seychelles	Mr. Ossama Abdelkawy
	South Africa	Mr. Ben David Durham
	Bhutan	Mr. Jambay Dorji
	China	Mr. Jintao Zhan
Asia-Pacific	Malaysia	Mr. Lim Hin Fui
	Philippines	Mr. Leonardo Gonzales
	Republic of Korea	Mr. Hong-Tak Lim
	Belarus	Ms. Galina Mozgova
CEE	Hungary	Ms. Rita Andorkó
	Republic of Moldova	Ms. Angela Lozan
	Slovak Republic	Ms. Zuzana Sevcikova
	Slovenia	Mr. Martin Batic
	Austria	Mr. Andreas Heissenberger
	European Union	Ms. Anastasia Pagida
WEOG	France	Mr. Selim Louafi
	Germany	Ms. Nicola Consmüller
	Norway	Mr. Casper Linnestad
GRULAC	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)	Ms. Georgina Catacora-Vargas
	Brazil	Ms. Fernanda Antinolfi Lovato
	Dominican Republic	Mr. Genaro Reynoso
	Mexico	Ms. Erica Hagman Aguilar
	Peru	Mr. Ramón Diez Matallana

OTHER GOVERNMENTS

COUNTRY	OBSERVER
United States of America	Ms. Katy Sater

ORGANIZATIONS

ORGANIZATION	OBSERVER
Global Industry Coalition	Mr. Eric Sachs
Universidad Nacional de General Sarmiento	Mr. Walter Pengue
Third World Network	Ms. Li Ching Lim

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES

ORGANIZATION	OBSERVER
International Indigenous Forum on Biodiversity (IIFB)	Ms. June Batang-ay