

Ref.: SCBD/CPU/DC/KG/MA/MW/88425 23 December 2019

NOTIFICATION Composition of the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Risk Assessment

Dear Madam/Sir,

Further to <u>notification 2019-095</u>, issued on 24 October 2019, nominations were received with a view to establishing the membership in the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Risk Assessment (AHTEG). The selection of members has now been concluded in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice. The selection considered the relevant fields of expertise of the nominated experts with due regard to geographical representation and gender balance and following the procedure for avoiding or managing conflicts of interest as set out in the annex to decision 14/33.

I am, therefore, pleased to announce the composition of the AHTEG attached herewith.

A meeting of the AHTEG will be convened in Montreal, Canada from 31 March to 3 April 2020. Further information and documents for the meeting will be made available on: https://www.cbd.int/meetings/CP-RARM-AHTEG-2020-01.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Elizabeth Maruma Mrema Acting Executive Secretary

Enclosure

To: Cartagena Protocol National Focal Points, relevant organizations and indigenous peoples and local communities

secretariat@cbd.int

cc: SBSTTA National Focal Points

Convention on

Biological Diversity





www.chd.int

Annex

COMPOSITION OF THE AD HOC TECHNICAL EXPERT GROUP ON RISK ASSESSMENT

PARTIES

REGION	COUNTRY	EXPERT
	South Africa	Ms. Wadzi Mandivenyi
Africa	Nigeria	Ms. Joy I. Onwude
	United Republic of Tanzania	Mr. Thomas Bwana
	Japan	Mr. Motoshige Yasuike
Asia-Pacific	Thailand	Mr. Prasartporn Smitamana
	Turkmenistan	Ms. Ejebay Kokanova
	Bulgaria	Mr. Nikolay Tzvetkov
CEE	Croatia	Ms. Vida Posavec Vukelić
	Republic of Moldova	Ms. Angela Lozan
	Norway	Ms. Kine Øverland
WEOG	Finland	Ms. Marja Ruohonen-Lehto
	France	Ms. Catherine Golstein
	Brazil	Ms. Luciana Pimenta Ambrozevicius
GRULAC	Cuba	Ms. Viana Victoria Barceló Pérez
	Jamaica	Ms. La-Tanya Richards

OTHER GOVERNMENTS

COUNTRY	EXPERT
Australia	Ms. Heidi Mitchell

ORGANIZATIONS

ORGANIZATION	EXPERT
Centre for Integrated Research in Biosafety	Mr. Jack Heinemann
Foundation for the National Institutes of Health	Ms. Brinda Dass
North Carolina State University	Mr. Todd Kuiken
European Network of Scientists for Social and Environmental Responsibility (ENSSER)	Mr. Christoph Then
CSIRO Data61	Mr. Keith Hayes
Third World Network	Ms. Eva Sirinathsinghji

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES

ORGANIZATION	EXPERT
Society for Wetland Biodiversity Conservation Nepal	Mr. Kamal Kumar Rai