Background to the High-Level Panel

In 2012, the United Kingdom-India sponsored High-Level Panel (HLP) on the Global Assessment of the Resources for Implementing the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 reported on ‘Resourcing the Aichi Biodiversity Targets’ – including acknowledgement of uncertainties, time and data constraints – to the eleventh meeting of the Conference of the Parties (COP-11), held in Hyderabad, India on 8-19 October 2012. Read more.

In Decision XI/4, COP-11 welcomed the initial findings of the High-Level Panel on global assessment of resources for implementing the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020, and invited the High-level Panel, in collaboration with other relevant initiatives that could provide a more bottom-up approach, to continue its work with a broadened composition and to report back on the results of its work to COP-12. Hence, with the generous financial support of the Government of the United Kingdom and the European Commission, the first HLP was expanded to create a regionally-balanced Panel of 15 members through the usual process of nomination by Parties and formal appointment by the CBD Executive Secretary. The work of the Panel mainly consisted of providing strategic guidance to the research required to support the HLP in developing its findings.

The research support was provided by the UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC) and ICF-GHK in close collaboration with the CBD secretariat. Observers on the Panel included the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the World Bank and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

The HLP was administered by the CBD Secretariat in order to facilitate broader support for the work programme, ensure linkages to relevant CBD decisions, work to provide continuity to the Phase I of the assessment accomplished in 2012, and alignment with intersessional initiatives such as those for the CBD (e.g. GBO-4) as well as the Post-2015 UN Development Agenda and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) processes.

For more information, please contact

1st HLP meeting, Trondheim, 30-31 May 2013

Members of the HLP (Second phase)

Chair Mr. Carlos Manuel Rodriguez, Costa Rica
Madagascar Ms. Laurette H. Rasoavahiny Director, Conservation of Biodiversity and Protected Areas, Ministry of Environment and Forests
Botswana Dr. Hillary Masundire Senior Lecturer, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Botswana
South Africa Mr. Fundisile Mketeni Deputy Director General, Biodiversity and Conservation, Department of Environmental Affairs
Philippines Ms. Rina Maria P. Rosales Resource Economist, Resources Environment Economic Center for Studies
China Mr. Wang Xin (replaced Mr. Zhu Liucai) Director, Foreign Economic Cooperation Office, Ministry of Environmental Protection
India Dr. A Damodaran Professor, Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Management
Sweden Ms. Maria Schultz Director, The Resilience and Development Programme (SwedBio), Stockholm Resilience Centre
Germany Dr. Heidi Wittmer Deputy Head of Department, Department of Environmental Politics, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ)
United Kingdom Prof. Sir Robert Watson Co-Chair, UK National Ecosystem Assessment
Norway Mr. Tom Rådahl Secretary General, Ministry of the Environment
Canada Dr. Ussif Rashid Sumaila Director, Fisheries Centre and Fisheries Economics Research Unit, University of British Columbia
Republic of Korea Dr. Tae Yong Jung Professor, Korea Development Institute (KDI), School of Public Policy and Management
Costa Rica Mr. Carlos Manuel Rodriguez Vice President and Senior Advisor, Global Policy, Conservation International
Brazil Mr. Roberto Brandão Cavalcanti Secretary, Biodiversity and Forests, Ministry of Environment
Mexico Ms. Mariana Bellot Rojas Director General, General Directorate for Institutional Development and Promotion, National Commission for Protected Areas (CONANP)
GEF Secretariat Mr. Mark Zimsky Senior Biodiversity Specialist, Natural Resources
OECD Secretariat Dr. Katia Karousakis Economist, Climate Change, Biodiversity and Development Division
TEEB Secertariat Mr. Nicolas Bertrand Interim Coordinator
UNDP Mr. Nik Sekhran Head of Environment and Energy Group
Ms. Caroline Petersen Head of Ecosystems and Biodiversity, Bureau for Development Policy
Mr. Yves de Soye Manager of the Biodiversity Finance (BIOFIN) Initiative
Dr. Jamison Ervin Technical Advisor to the Biodiversity Finance (BIOFIN) Initiative
UNEP Mr. Bakary Kante Director, Division of Environmental Law and Conventions
Mr. Alphonse Kambu Programme Officer, Division of Environmental Law and Conventions
World Bank Dr. Valerie Hickey Biodiversity Specialist
UNEP-WCMC Mr. Jerry Harrison Head of Programme, Conventions and Policy Support
Ms. Sarah Smith Senior Programme Officer, Conventions and Policy Support
ICF GHK Mr. Matt Rayment Principal Consultant
Ms. Mavoureen Conway Senior Consultant
Mr. Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias Executive Secretary
Mr. Ravi Sharma Principal Officer, Technical Support for Implementation
Mr. Tristan Tyrrell HLP Project Manager (Consultant)
India Mr. Hem Pande Additional Secretary, Biodiversity Programme, Ministry of Environment and Forests
Japan Mr. Rikiya Konishi Deputy Director, Global Biodiversity Strategy Office, Nature Conservation Bureau, Ministry of the Environment
Norway Ms. Tone Solhaug Senior Adviser, Department for Biodiversity, Outdoor Recreation and Cultural Heritage, Ministry of Environment
United Kingdom Mr. Jeremy Eppel Deputy Director, International Biodiversity, Ecosystems and Evidence, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Mr. James Vause Economist (Biodiversity), Natural Environment Economics, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Mr. Richard Earley International Biodiversity Policy Advisor, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
European Commission Ms. Laure Ledoux Biodiversity Unit, Directorate General for the Environment