Biodiversity Day 2021- Messages

Messages for the International Day for Biological Diversity, 22 May 2021: "We're part of the solution"

On this page, you will see messages in support of Biodiversity Day from governments and key figures in environmental sustainability. Organizations and individuals are also invited to send messages! Guidelines on how to submit messages are available here.


Message from the Secretary-General of the United Nations on Biodiversity Day 2021

Subtitles:  العربية - English Español Français Português - Русский - Swahili中文

Transcript:  العربية - English Español Français - ItalianoPortuguês - Русский - Swahili中文

Video files (mp4):  العربية - English Español Français Português - Русский - Swahili中文 - no subtitles

Audio (mp3)


Message from the Executive Secretary of the Convention on Biological Diversity on Biodiversity Day 2021

Transcript - Video file (mp4)


Messages from COP Presidencies


COP 2 Presidency: Indonesia - H.E. Dr. Siti Nurbaya Bakar, Minister of Environment and Forestry


COP 5 Presidency: Kenya - H.E. Mr. Keriako Tobiko, CBS, SC; Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forestry


COP 6 Presidency: The Netherlands - H.E. Ms. Carola Schouten, Minister of Agriculture, Nature and Food Quality



COP 7 Presidency: Malaysia - H.E. Datuk Seri Dr. Shamsul Anuar Nasarah, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources


br-rs COP 8 Presidency: Brazil - H.E. Mr. Ricardo Salles, Minister of the Environment
schulze COP 9 Presidency: Germany - H.E. Ms. Svenja Schulze, Minister of the Environment

COP 10 Presidency: Japan - H.E. Mr. Shinjiro Koizumi, Minister of the Environment


in-javadekar COP 11 Presidency: India: H.E Mr. Prakash Jaadekar, Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
huang runqiu COP 15 Presidency: China - H.E. Mr. Huang Runqiu, Minister of Ecology and Environment


Messages from Governments

bd-uddin Bangladesh - H.E. Md. Shahab Uddin MP, Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change

Canada - H.E. Mr. Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Environment and Climate Change

ec-sinkevicius European Commission - H.E. Mr. Virginijus Sinkevičius, Commissioner
grenada Grenada - H.E. Mr. Simon Stiell, Minister with Responsibility for Climate Resilience and Environment

India - Mr. J. Justin Mohan, Secretary, National Biodiversity Authority

(see also COP11 Presidency above)

cg Republic of Congo - H.E. Arlette Soudan-Nonault, Minister of Tourism and Environment


Messages from UN Agencies

Jacques Trouvilliez AEWA - Mr. Jacques Trouvilliez, Executive Secretary, Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds
restrepo CGIAR - Mr. Juan Lucas Restrepo, Director-General  of  the Alliance of  Bioversity International and the International Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT), CGIAR

CITES - Ms. Ivonne Higuero, Secretary-General of the Convention on the International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora


Amy Fraenkel CMS - Ms. Amy Fraenkel, Executive Secretary, Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals 

FAO - Mr. Qu Dongyu, Director-General, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations


gef-rodriguez GEF - Mr. Carlos Manuel Rodriguez, CEO and Chairperson of the Global Environment Facility
anne IPBES - Ms. Anne Larigauderie, Executive Secretary of the Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services

IPPC - Mr. Avetik Nersisyan, Officer in Charge, Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention

nnadozie ITPGRFA - Mr Kent Nnadozie, Secretary of the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture

UN - Mr. David R. Boyd, UN Special Rapporteur on human rights and the environment

unccd-thiaw UNCCD - Mr. Ibrahim Thiaw, Executive Secretary of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification
desa-liu UNDESA - Mr. Liu Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General for the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs
unenvironment_ed UNEP - Ms. Inger Andersen, Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme
WB-1 World Bank - Mr. David Malpass, President of the World Bank Group


Messages from Subnational Governments


Bonn, Germany - Ms. Katja Dörner, Mayor

Watch in German


Messages from Organizations

amee AMEE - Dr. Carlos A Faerron Guzman, Associate Director, Planetary Health Alliance and Dr. Judith Singleton, Senior Lecturer in Pharmacy, Queensland University of Technology

ACB - Ms. Theresa Mundita S. Lim, Executive Director of the ASEAN Centre for Biodiversity


bcgi-smith BGCI - Mr. Paul Smith, Secretary General, Botanic Gardens Conservation International

GPC - Mr. K.C. Bansal, Member, Board of Directors, Global Plant Council

Written statement

icar ICAR - Mr. Dipankar Saha, Head, ICAR-Central Arid Zone Research Institute
ie-ide IDE - Irish Doctors for the Environment
goodall Jane Goodall Institute - Ms. Jane Goodall, DBE, Founder, the Jane Goodall Institute, UN Messenger of Peace
ramsar Ramsar - Ms. Martha Rojas Urrego, Secretary General of the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands
Mario Lambertini

WWF International - Mr. Marco Lambertini, Director General, WWF International